Roland GK-3 divided pickup installation

Here’s a photo-document of the process of attaching my new Roland GK-3 pickup which came with my GR-20 Guitar Synthesizer. I mounted it on my ESP LTD Kirk Hammett Junior, which is a guitar I don’t mind messing up. Took about an hour. The bracket method works well for guitars with a removable bridge and height adjustable posts such as Les Paul. This method won’t work for a Strat.

Before – note sticky notes showing original bridge height so action can be adjusted to compensate for the metal bracket.

IMG_3690

Strings off, testing out the bracket size:

IMG_3693

Bracket with bridge back on for size. At this point, you can twiddle the bridge post screws to adjust the overall saddle height so the strings have the same action as before.

IMG_3692

The bracket with the pickup screwed to it now, with little rubber tubes to allow height adjustability:

IMG_3694

On bridge posts:

IMG_3696

Bridge on:

IMG_3697

Strings back on, controller part temp mounting with Blu-Tack. The ‘pole pieces’ of the pickup can be varied in height contour depending on the curvature of your strings. There’s a tiny screw in the centre of the pickup.

IMG_3698

Wire tuckage:

IMG_3699

Completed:

IMG_3701

4 Responses to “Roland GK-3 divided pickup installation”

  1. Hi there,

    I bought one GK-3 with GR-20, but I have a big problem here. I have a Ibanez FGM400, and the GK-3 pick-up height is too high. I couldn’t put this below the strings. My strings is about 6mm, and GK-3 pick-up height is about 8 or 9mm.
    I guess, it’s incompatible with my guitar. Could you give me your opinion? Thanks
    Rodrigo Hurtado

  2. Hi Rodrigo

    Not sure I can give you a useful answer here – the size of the pickup is fixed in height so you would need to make a rout in the body to install it.

    Gitbuddy

  3. Lean Sipple

    Here’s a photo-document of the process of attaching my new Roland GK-3 pickup which came with my GR-20 Guitar Synthesizer. I mounted it on my ESP LTD Kirk Hammett Junior, which is a guitar I don’t mind messing up. Took about an hour. The bracket method…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

