Those folks at Tom Anderson are so nice I just *have* to buy one.

While browsing the Tom Anderson website waiting for an airplane, I came across this gorgeous baby which you can see more of here.

 01,27,2007_04-13-18

It’s a Tom Anderson Cobra with a translucent black quilted maple top on mahogany body and absolutely stunning. I was transfixed.

I’d had a couple of beers and recklessly fired of an e-mail to Tom Anderson’s contact address (all names and numbers changed to protect the innocent from solicitation):

Dear Tom Anderson

I was browsing your site and saw this Guitar Of The Week: http://www.andersonguitars.com/cfPages/showSingleGuitarGallery.cfm?passedID=3&finishID=275&bodyWoodID=33. I’d like one just like it please – how do I go about it, how much will it cost, how long will it take etc. please? J

Thanks, Gitbuddy

I was expecting no reply at all (like frickin’ Warwick when I e-mailed them, bastards) or a belated reply that might have said something like “Oh, it will take about 1 year to build a custom order such as that and will set you back about $10,000.” – in fact I was *hoping* that they would say that it would take a long time to make so I’d have a chance of saving up the money to buy the thing. To my surprise they replied the very next day with this:

Hi
You may call XXXX here at the factory afternoon California time (XXX XXXX XXX) and he can help you spec it out.  You can email him at XXXXX or you can order one with these exact specs through the Anderson dealer of your choice.  It is all very easy and fun too.
Thanks

..and then, the very next mail in my inbox was from another nice lady also from Anderson saying:

That exact guitar may still be available at Russo Music  …. we have no record that anyone has purchased it and registered that purchase with us.  If that guitar is not available from them, you can place an order through any of the dealers listed on our web site.  The list price is $4,189 and delivery would be in March or April of next year. 

At this point I panicked since I don’t have $4,189 in small change right now, but I went to the Russo site anyway. Fortunately (for my wallet) the guitar had been sold. Unfortunately (for the GASser in me) it had been sold, since that’s one of the most beautiful guitars I’ve seen for a while and I’ve desired a Tele-shaped geetar for some time to join the family.

Anyway – how’s that for superb customer service (and a manageable price too)? They went out of their way to track it down and let me know about it, and two separate people got back to me within 12 hours. Unbelievable – and that warm fuzzy feeling that surrounded me knowing that there were good people at the end of the helpline coupled with TA’s stellar reputation for guitar build quality, sound and playability have firmly put a Tom Anderson on my ‘to buy’ list for the future. 

Something has to go first though. Anyone wanna buy a Warwick bass? They don’t answer e-mails if you need support mind you…

4 Responses to “Those folks at Tom Anderson are so nice I just *have* to buy one.”

  1. […] as I mentioned before in this post, I don’t think I’d be this far down the road if that crucial element of customer […]

  2. If you are going for best contents like me, just visit
    this website every day since it presents quality contents, thanks

  3. What’s up, I log on to your blog like every week.
    Your writing style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

