Yngwie Malmsteen – the new Giorgio Armani? The new Hugo Boss?

Flipping through the pages of Guitar World whilst performing my morning ablutions I saw this advert for Boss pedals featuring my favourite shredder:

yngwie_boss_guitar_player_nov2007_ad_small

There’s some small print in the lower left (if you click the image you can see it enlarged) that says “For more info on Yngwie and his new clothing line go to www.yngwie.org and yngwiemerch.com“.

This piqued my interest; “clothing line”? Yngwie has a “clothing line” now? What? Has our Drakkar Noir-doused-open-chested-frilly-shirted-Rolex-swapping-metal guitar God suddenly taken to designing Yngwie branded open-chested-frilly-shirts and other clothes? Perhaps some sharp designer suits with tasteful YJM monograms, or some haute couture jeans with scalloped and flared bottoms? When someone says or writes “clothing line” I think Armani, Boss (not the pedals), YSL and maybe P.Diddy.

What did I find at www.yngwiemerch.com? T-shirts. You guessed it – tour T-shirts that you’d find being sold at his gigs or down Carnaby Street. HELLO! Heavy Metal tour T-shirts do not a “clothing line” make.

Oh well. At least I found these there – an ‘Unleash the Fury’ thong.

yngthong

Damn uncomfortable though, but I can play faster when I wear them…

11 Responses to “Yngwie Malmsteen – the new Giorgio Armani? The new Hugo Boss?”

  1. Reminds me of the “80’s Has Beens” in the movie Music & Lyrics, which I watched last Fri. Yes I watch sappy movies sometimes too guys.

  2. Armani has always been a favorite designer of mine. It seems the best ones always come from Italy!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Ha. At least you have *that* in common with Eric Clapton. 😉

    Just kidding – I’m sure you’re a wonderful guitarist.

  4. I was disappointed when I found it was just tour shirts…I was hoping to wear some of those shirts with the frilly collars and freak out my guitar students!

  5. What I want to know is how did he inherit Mozart and Bach’s wardrobe.

  6. led light uses…

    […]Yngwie Malmsteen – the new Giorgio Armani? The new Hugo Boss? « Gitbuddy's Guitar Blog[…]…

  7. I believe that is among the such a lot important information for me. And i’m glad studying your article. But want to observation on few general things, The site taste is wonderful, the articles is in reality nice : D. Excellent task, cheers

  8. Deedee Pentek

    Flipping through the pages of Guitar World whilst performing my morning ablutions I saw this advert for Boss pedals featuring my favourite shredder: There

  9. Hello, after reading this amazing paragraph
    i am ɑlso delighted to share my experience ɦere ѡith colleagues.

  10. Hi colleagues, nice post and nice arguments commented here, I
    am in fact enjoying by these.

  11. Very good info. Lucky me I recently found your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

Leave a Reply

