We’re jammin’!

“We’re jammin’
I wanna jam it with you,
We’re jamming, jamming
And I hope you like jammin’ too”

…and presumably, also “Spliffin”, but never mind.

I took Bob Marley’s advice and recently started jamming again. It’s been a long time since I rock ‘n’ rolled (groan) – over 6 years since I last really played with a band, so I got together with a couple of colleagues of mine who are both very experienced musicians (bass and drums) and we went into a jammin’ studio last night for some jammin’.

Oh yeah.

It rocked.

Drummer started messing around with some rhythms, bassist plugged in and just started pumping out a bitchin’ low end and I started riffing over the top, launching into some wailing leads. I think we just went on playing for 10 minutes before stopping to try something else – having never played before together.

The vibe was definitely there – we all clicked well and the music really went to some new and interesting places. I think we could have (and trying to stay modest) gone up on the stage in front of some drug-addled hippies in the mid 1970s and played one song for 45 minutes in a cloud of cannabis smoke and gotten away with some respectable adulation. To say I enjoyed it would be an understatement and I really felt my playing has reached a new level after years of woodshedding at home in the bedroom and learning a whole bunch of new theory and soloing and harmonic approaches. I felt much better about playing over changes and was able to follow the harmonic groove being laid down by the bass and even anticipate some of the changes comfortably.

We plan to learn some real material but given the spark that was there these will generally be launching points for more free form jammin’ – (at least if I get my way, heh heh… just kiddin’ fellas).

I hope you like jammin’ too.

Leave a Reply

