Gear hunting in Las Vegas, Baby

I’m at Los Angeles’ shitty, shitty LAX airport waiting for a flight to Las Vegas, where I’ll be for the next 5 days (not being one to discriminate, Vegas also has a shitty, shitty airport <edit> it’s not as bad as I remember actually – at least there are jackpot machines to pass the time).

Though I doubt I’ll be spending much, if at all, given that I’ve got the two Mesas and the Anderson on order and will probably end up just window shopping, or at least pretending to since I didn’t bring a travel guitar with me this time, so will just pop in to some places to turn their amps up loud and scare some small children in the vicinity with Death/Thrash renditions of ‘Pop goes the Weasel’.

I did some rooting around the Internet forums for some info on good places to go looking for guitars and gear and while I haven’t been that successful on finding the best places to go so far, I *did* find a place where I (and every other Internet denizen) was advised not to go. That place, which I have heard of is Ed Roman’s – the self-proclaimed ‘Guitar King of Las Vegas’, with his store once being touted as the largest guitar store in the world, but now some smaller reduced circumstances showroom.

I won’t go into it here. There are plenty of posts and Internet properties detailing why.

First and best place to start is Ed’s own site. In particular, check out his ‘rants’ page, then go to his ‘photo album’ section. Just looking at the man you can tell he’s a shady guy. Just check out this picture of him with Ted Nugent (whom he supports should The Nuge ever make a bid for the U.S. Presidency):

Nuge

But this site is the best for the real lowdown on Ed. I guess as a person of ethnic origin I won’t be going there, as I risk being abused and possibly shot.

So, it’s there or the Guitar Centre. Tough choices…

One Response to “Gear hunting in Las Vegas, Baby”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThough I doubt I’ll be spending much, if at all, given that I’ve got the two Mesas and the Anderson on order and will probably end up just window shopping, or at least pretending to since I didn’t bring a travel guitar with me this time … […]

Leave a Reply

