Gnarly Geezer, Allan Holdsworth Interview on Guitar Player site

Great article and interview with Allan Holdsworth on the Guitar Player website right now.

http://www.guitarplayer.com/article/search-uncommon-chord/mar-08/33675

Very illuminating conversation between him and the interviewer on his life, musical history, technique, gear and of most interest to me (and I imagine a large proportion of his fans) about his improvising. Here’s just one quote:

“What’s going on internally when you are improvising?
Usually the beginning of a solo is easy, because I’ve got an unlimited selection of different things that I can play for the first note. But once I’ve made that choice, then it goes to an unconscious place, and I’m not really thinking about it at all. I’m hearing this note, and then I hear the harmony, and sometimes I see the chords. It’s like looking at a Rolodex or an abacus. I can recognize distances between intervals. Then it’s just a matter of navigating from one place to another and squeezing in lines in interesting ways. All this stuff is just happening in real time, like instant composition.

That’s why I’ve always been against playing “licks.” Some people have boxes of little things that they just string together, and I don’t see how that can be considered improvising, because the only time you’re going to be improvising is when you make a decision to go from one lick to another. So, I always try to go in as many different directions as possible. Of course, we can all get trapped, and when that happens to me, then I don’t feel so good about playing. But sometimes I get loose of all the chains, and it seems like almost anything is possible.”

3 Responses to “Gnarly Geezer, Allan Holdsworth Interview on Guitar Player site”

  1. […] Jarle Richard Akselsen wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptGreat article and interview with Allan Holdsworth on the Guitar Player website right now. http://www.guitarplayer.com/article/search-uncommon-chord/mar-08/33675. Very illuminating conversation between him and the interviewer on his life … […]

  2. […] Jarle Richard Akselsen wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptGreat article and interview with Allan Holdsworth on the Guitar Player website right now. http://www.guitarplayer.com/article/search-uncommon-chord/mar-08/33675. Very illuminating conversation between him and the interviewer on his life … […]

  3. Edward Norgaard

    Great article and interview with Allan Holdsworth on the Guitar Player website right now. http://www.guitarplayer.com/article/search-uncommon-chord/mar-08/33675 Very illuminating conversation between him and the interviewer on his life, musical history…

Leave a Reply

