Pat Metheny PM120-NT

Went to the Swee Lee sale on Sunday with no intention of buying anything but ended up dropping over 2 grand on a lovely new jazz box – the Ibanez Pat Metheny PM120 signature model, natural finish. You may remember my GASeous feelings towards this guitar from here.

Saw the beauty on the stand, recognized it from its cutaway ‘horns’ and promptly grabbed it – shoving aside a pregnant woman from a chair so I could sit down for an hour and play it.

When I told the staff that I wanted to buy it, one of them disappeared round the back to get the case, emerging 5 minutes later clutching it. He then said ‘oh, it comes with a cloth of some kind too.’  Being a completist and wanting everything due to me that’s included, I said ‘ok – give me the cloth’ half expecting some small monogrammed cleaning towel that I could keep in the accessories box in the case, but no – I was completely mistaken. He returned with what I can only liken to a small sleeping bag – made from black fuzzy cloth and about 5 feet in length.

‘What am I supposed to do with this?’ I asked.

‘You put the guitar in there.’

‘Huh? When?’

‘I don’t  know. That must be part of the endorsee’s request.’

You can see it next to the case in the bottom picture. The case can’t fit in the bag (and anyway, why would it want to?). Yes, the guitar can fit in the bag, but then the bag can’t fit in the case. The bag doesn’t offer any kind of knock protection to the guitar and can’t easily be carried if you put the guitar in it (I haven’t tried it yet).

So, my only remaining theories are:

  1. Pat likes drowning large numbers of kittens now and then.
  2. He sleeps in it up to his chest between sets.
  3. It’s utterly pointless.

Still – an absolutely beautiful guitar that might be a keeper. My first time with flatwounds too and I love them!

IMG_0125 IMG_0126  IMG_0129  IMG_0130 IMG_0131 IMG_0127 IMG_0128 IMG_0132

One Response to “Pat Metheny PM120-NT”

  1. […] out from the closet came my Martin HD-28 and Ibanez Pat Metheny – both giving my calluses a serious run for their money. Managed to get about 3 hours of fairly […]

Leave a Reply

