Lesson 13: Freight Trane

Another lesson yesterday. Master took me through the changes of Freight Trane – opening track off the Kenny Burrell and John Coltrane album that he’d lent me the week before, the head of which I’d transcribed. He zapped me off a copy of the music and I think I nailed the melody with about 90% accuracy though having some trouble ‘swinging’ at such speed, i.e. playing the swing 8th notes at 236 bpm. Working on that though and right hand is getting better.

One Response to “Lesson 13: Freight Trane”

  1. […] Jamie Dale wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptMaster took me through the changes of Freight Trane – opening track off the Kenny Burrell and John Coltrane album that he’d lent me the week before, the head of which I’d transcribed. He zapped me off a copy of the music and I think I … […]

Leave a Reply

