Lesson 15: How High The Moon. Is scat singing related to scat munching?

I was embarrassed to have to report that I hadn’t been practicing very much since our last lesson due to having spent too much time working on my Top Secret Project.  Master, however, had recently been involved in a motorcycle accident that caused a serious fracture below his knee and was sufficiently immobilized to be unable to beat me too severely.

Instead, we did a recap of How High The Moon which I’d been struggling with getting the chords down properly to. Anyway, here they are in their most basic incarnation:

Gmaj7 | Gmaj7 | Gmin7| C7 |

Fmaj7 | Fmaj7  | Fmin7 | Bb7 |

Ebmaj7 | Ebmaj7| Amin7 | D7 |

Gmin7 | Gmaj7 | Bmin7b5 Bb7 Amin7 | Gmaj7

<fix me>

He showed me a number of ways to play it and I will do some cack-handed out-of-time recordings of it this weekend to throw up here. At the moment I can only play it very straight and am just trying to get the chords down cold. The next step for me will be to futz around with different chord voicings, get a walking baseline established and then try to start playing solo over some of the recorded changes.

What I like about this tune is the fact that it modulates, i.e. changes keys. As much as I love Autumn Leaves, in its basic form, it’s still all in one key. HHTM moves from G to F to Eb and in-between which I find very interesting – you can see ii V I movements in each of those keys occurring throughout so this is a great song as a Jazz study.

One Response to “Lesson 15: How High The Moon. Is scat singing related to scat munching?”

  1. nick4guitar Says:

    Hey, thanks for leaving me a comment. I hav actually just joined the jazz band at school. and Am pretty syked about it? Any pointers? Caus ive played like all kinds of guitar except jazz. By the way put a good song on your next comment to me and ill recomend it in my next post. thanks!

Leave a Reply

