Gear meetup and impromptu jam

Some of my guitar buddies came over on Sunday to show off some gear and trade licks:

Ken with my Tom Anderson Atom. I love that quilt.

IMG_1487 

Me with Ken’s ES-339. This guitar used to belong to Jack Zucker. Very nice axe for a jazzy sound on the neck pickup with the top end rolled off. The smaller body fits us Asian types well. The workmanship is good for a Gibson and I found the neck finish and the ‘nibs’ (the binding over the fret ends) to be smoother than on my Les Paul. If Ken ever decides to sell this, I might be interested.

IMG_1498

Ken looks on as Daniel shreds on his Burny SG. The kid is only 15 and he’s already awesome. Plus he looks like Slash might have when he was a teenager – check out how low slung that axe is…

IMG_1502

Min with pink Strat and in pink T-shirt (later he ate a pink sugared donut I bought him as a belated birthday cake). Dangerous times for him they were- just in the room next door, one of my condo neighbours was having a Gay Party (true) – plenty of guys in cut-off shirts, with six-pack abs, all drinking white Zinfandel and champagne. I asked Min to bash out a few choruses of ‘Y.M.C.A.’ for their benefit but he claimed not know the chords; somehow I didn’t believe him.

IMG_1509

Ken an Min showing Daniel how to sweep pick. Ken’s ‘arpeggio face’ is classic.  He did come out with this wisdom though – if you sweep fast enough you only need to get the lowest and the highest note right (perhaps).

IMG_1511

Ken and Slash Junior/Daniel jamming. Daniel is playing my Kirk Hammett Junior. It was voted the best guitar of those that turned up that day.

IMG_1515

Ken and Min doing a jazzy laidback jam. Honestly, this was totally amazing and they both played some truly awesome solos in turn. I feel very humble when I am around these guys – as modest as they both are, they are both monstrously good guitarists. I have a video and will upload it soon.

IMG_1520

2 Responses to “Gear meetup and impromptu jam”

  1. […] guitar jam Here’s a video taken at the Sunday jam the week before last. Like I said in my previous post, I think these two guys are really great players, despite their modesty, and they have a natural […]

  2. Sweet axe’s boys….Just gotta luv that ATOM.

Leave a Reply

