The Advancing Guitarist – Mick Goodrick

I got this book a couple of years back when I went through a feverish guitar literature acquisition phase and foolishly I’ve let it sit gathering dust on the shelf since then occasionally flicking through it then putting it back when I got distracted by Yngwie tab books.

I recently dusted it off and have been reading it in earnest. While I’ve known that it contained many gems of wisdom inside, I’d always thought that many of them required a heavy investment of time to digest compared to the quick lick fix of copping some shred from the aforementioned Malmsteen tomes.

Well, I’m glad I have now rediscovered it. One of the first things Goodrick expounds upon is playing on one string. i.e. instead of playing positionally across all six strings, spend some time focusing only on a single string along its length. It’s very surprising what this ‘disadvantage exercise’ eventually opens up in you as a player and how, when you reincorporate this back into your playing as a whole what a new view of the neck one gets. I started out just playing up and down the G- string and trying to stay within the key of C. Then I tried to find the notes of Dm, G and C chords along the same string and ended up fairly fluently improvising over this ii V I. I then repeated this on the other strings – spending at least 5 minutes only on each particular string.  The benefits it yielded are immeasurable and I plan to do this in future much more.

51QXBF1HWML__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

Of course there’s much more to this book than that – this is just one of dozens of gems. Go see: http://www.amazon.com/Advancing-Guitarist-Mick-Goodrick/dp/0881885894

5 Responses to “The Advancing Guitarist – Mick Goodrick”

  1. “The Advancing Guitarist – Mick Goodrick”

    What reading material do you recommend for the beginner…?

  2. Hi Mike

    A great all-round book that covers gear, basic technique and musicianship and so on is ‘The Complete Guitarist’ by Richard Chapman. Another is ‘The Guitar Handbook’ by Ralph Denyer.

    Cheers

  3. This is probably the most useful guitar handbook that I have ever seen…I have tons, and this one stands alone!

  4. Truly great book! Although I’ve been playing guitar for over 15 years. I am really glad I found it. Now I feel like I need to learn all over again.

  5. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you are not really
    a lot more smartly-favored than you may be now. You’re
    so intelligent. You know thus consdiderably inn relation tto this subject, produced me individually believe it from so man various angles.
    Its like men and women arre not fascinated until it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga!
    Your personal stuffs excellent. Always handle it up!

Leave a Reply

