All the keys…

About 90% of the time I play in C major. Another 10% I’ll be in G (mainly the E minor variant). Then the remainder probably in D, E or A.

Well, what about the other 7 keys?  Embarrassingly they get very little coverage but recently I have been making an effort to cover them. Having been taking lessons from Master for about a year now and with the exposure I am getting to the Jazz idiom getting more and more extensive I’ve been having to negotiate increasing numbers of progressions such as:

Dm7 | G7 | Cm7 | F7 | Bbm7 | Eb7 etc…

..which traverses keys – C to Eb to Ab and so forth. Consequently I have been trying to spend more time in those other keys to gain more fluency by shifting patterns along and trying to visualize where those chords are, where the scales lie and so on ‘properly’.  

As you can imagine this is a huge effort to do and the temptation to go off and shred in C or E or G always remains. Imposing the discipline on oneself to stay within the key one is trying to practice is tough, though for the last two nights I have stayed wholly in Bb and Eb respectively jamming over the ii V Is of each.

3 Responses to “All the keys…”

  1. Great Thank! and don’t forget to view my website http://gibsonlespauls.wordpress.com

  2. Admiring the commitment you put into your website and
    in depth information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  3. I always used to read post in news papers but now as I am a user of net therefore
    from now I am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

Leave a Reply

