Aging plastic parts fail

A colleague of mine wants to sell her Squier Stratocaster – it’s in fairly good shape except a bit of rust on the bridge screws and some dirt here and there but otherwise ok. I said I’d restring and clean it for her and get it shipshape for sale.

It also had a missing pickup selector switch so I dutifully went down to Davis Guitar at Peninsular and picked one up for a Buck. The problem was that it was bright clean virginal white and the pickguard was a kind of stained yellow – like to teeth of a Gauloises-smoking Parisian Cafe owner.

Ah-ha! I exclaimed. I can soak the new little white knob in a strong solution of tea and coffee for that ‘Aged-by-Tom-Murphy-of-Gibson-Custom’ look.  I ran to the pantry, quarter filled a stryofoam cup with hot water, dropped in a shot of espresso, dunked in a Lipton teabag and left it over the weekend in my desk drawer so the cleaning troll wouldn’t throw it into the trash.

Monday morning – I checked back and FAIL. No difference whatsoever. The thing is still whiter than the collective bleached underpants at a Neo-Nazi rally.

Oh well.

3 Responses to “Aging plastic parts fail”

  1. Ya know, I’ve been told that a nice coffee and/or tea soak would age those plastic doodads nicely… so I tried it with the knobs from my Squier and…

    FAIL.

    Nice blog, by the way. I’ve added you to my blogroll… it may not show up yet, but it will be there once I give my site a makeover toward the end of the week…

    ooops, did I just expose that I’m giving my site a makeover?

    You heard it here first, at gitbuddy 🙂

  2. […] guitarist in strange, psychedlic top hat hints at Extreme Makeover: Guitar Blog Edition in drive-by commenting. The still-unidentified suspect was last heard shouting “King Kong died for your sins!” […]

  3. […] guitarist in strange, psychedlic top hat hints at Extreme Makeover: Guitar Blog Edition in drive-by commenting. The still-unidentified suspect was last heard shouting “King Kong died for your sins!” […]

Leave a Reply

