Noodling on Lapstick

Here’s a short clip of me just playing random stuff on my Lapstick. I must say I really love this guitar, especially given that it has a short scale which suits my lil’ ol hands well.

8 Responses to “Noodling on Lapstick”

  1. Hey,
    Nice play dude. But it seems to me that playing with the lapstick is kind of weird in terms of rest your picking hand on the guitar itself?

  2. Hi James

    thanks for the kind words. Yes – you are very observant – I am resting my right hand on the body of the Lapstick a bit more than I normally would. This is because the instrument is very light and you need to provide a little downward pressure to keep it in place – you get used to it very quickly though – it’s not a problem.

    Cheers

  3. Hi,
    Great gadget this Lapstick! How did you record?
    Do you like the headphone amp?
    Greetz!

  4. Hi Pieter, and welcome.

    Recorded very simply – I have a digital camera (a Canon S5 I think) and I just pointed it myself while the amp is to the right of it. I do not use the headphone amp. I n fact, I asked for a custom built lapstick that does not include the preamp circuitry because i knew I would never use it (it is quite primitive); it just has a regular guitar output jack. Instead, when travelling, I just use an outboard portable effects processor such as my Boss Micro BR. Pepijn, who is one half of the Lapstick company uses a Korg Pandora v4.

    Cheers

  5. Nice guitar, great playing. I might have to check into one of those.

  6. I didn’t notice at first: but no position-dots on the fretboard! Also a personal wish? And the wood of the body: custom top or solid maple?
    Did you consider a upgrade for the pickup??

  7. Pieter

    That’s right – no position dots. 🙂

    It has markers along the neck though, and I have them done so that it looks like a guitar capoed at the fifth fret since the Lapstick is a major 3rd higher than a regular tuning (A D G C E A).

    It has a maple top and some kind of exotic wood body. You can see the specs at http://www.lapstick.com

    I have considered changing the pickup, but for now, I’m ok with it; it is kinda noisy when I am not touching the strings…
    cheers

  8. Gaylene Bolman

    Here’s a short clip of me just playing random stuff on my Lapstick. I must say I really love this guitar, especially given that it has a short scale which suits my lil’ ol hands well.

Leave a Reply

