You Stole The Sun From My Heart

According to this month’s Guitarist magazine, Richey Edwards of the Manic Street Preachers was recently legally pronounced dead, 13 years after his disappearance.  A quick search of the Net and I found that the Guardian reported his obituary in November last year. Nice one Guitarist – bang up to date!

richey4real

Anyway, here’s the song that James Dean Bradfield wrote about (and for) him a few years after he went missing, with its poignant lyrics below. My favorite Manics song.

Drinking – water to stay thin
Or is it to purify
I love you all the same
But there’s no – no real truce with my fury
You don’t have to believe me
I love you all the same
But you stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from
You stole the sun from
You have – broken through my armour
And I don’t have an answer
I love you all the same
I paint – the things I want to see
But it don’t come easy
I love you all the same
But you stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from
You stole the sun from
Think I’m – I’m lost among the undergrowth
So much so I woke up
I love you all the same
But you stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from my
You stole the sun from my heart
You stole the sun from
You stole the sun from
I have – I’ve got to stop smiling
It gives the wrong impression
I love you all the same

Leave a Reply

