Fender USA Yngwie Malmsteen Stratocaster – clean & restring

Decided to pull my Fender USA Yngwie Malmsteen Stratocaster out of its case for a bit of a play last night. The strings were a bit munged but fortunately I had bought a couple of sets of Ernie Ball ‘8s’ last week (“BE PREPARED” [Boy Scouts *did* pay off]).

For some reason, having been caught up in a GASeous frenzy and been selling all my stuff left, right and center, I had got it into my mind that this was going to be one of the items that I would be letting go. Perhaps I was taking it down from storage to give it one last caress, or to convince myself ‘nah – this guitar you never play, and it sucks – sell it – even at a big loss…’.   Well, having become reacquainted with it and with a new set of strings, I have decided to hang firmly on to it.

Without strings full length shot. Mesa Nomad and KH JR in background, along with stripped down pedalboard (go minimalism!). What a gorgeous colour – as I always say ‘like a block of New Zealand butter’.

IMG_2070

Trio of DiMarzios – two HS-3s (neck and bridge) and a single coil in the middle. Olympic white scratchplate (minty white).

IMG_2072

Closeup of scallops. Beautiful.

IMG_2078 

Oversized headstock – note brass nut, lack of bullet truss rod (indicating it is the last generation model) and split-post tuners. *All* non-locking tremolo tuners should have split posts IMHO – saves people getting poked by little sharp string ends.

IMG_2079

Ernie Ball Extra Slinkys – what Yngwie used to use before his string endorsement. Probably about half the price (No doubt the fanboy sucker in me will be shelling out for his signature strings at some point in the future…)

IMG_2080 IMG_2085 IMG_2087

Inside tremolo cavity. Dunno what ‘M2’ means which was found written in there at the factory. Maybe it’s a secret code that if spotted by any Fender employees entitles me to receive a free lifetime’s supply of guitars?

IMG_2088

Yngwie signature pick. I used to have one of these which I caught at one of his gigs – long since lost. This one came as part of a ‘5 for $20’ pack at his gig at Fort Canning the year before last.

IMG_2094

What an idiot… I forgot to take some pics of it with the strings back *on*.  Gives me something to do later I s’pose…

14 Responses to “Fender USA Yngwie Malmsteen Stratocaster – clean & restring”

  1. Raoul Duke Says:

    Did you see the review of the Fender Malmsteen relic of The Duck in last month’s Guitar Player mag?

    Interesting to note that on the original:
    a) It’s a 3 way switch – not a 5 way so no quack tones with which to unleash the fury with
    b) both tone pots are disconnected
    c)middle pickup is the only true single coil…the others are stacked humbuckers

    Also doesn’t Malmsteen use a light .08 top string but he goes heavy on the bottom strings (.46 + )

    Love the simplicity of Malmsteen’s setup – he’s amazingly candid about it – strat -> dod overdrive pedal -> non-master Marshall (f*cking loud). The rest is in the hands.

  2. Brad Paisley on the cover? Yeah – I did. Very interesting; mine, being a normal production model doesn’t have a lot of those refinements though. I think you’re right about the string gauges (light tops, heavy bottoms) and I should go check up.

    Cheers!

  3. Man, that scalloped fretboard looks hard to play. I imagine the strings wiggling around under my fingers like they’re wobbling on a tightrope.

  4. Hey Rob – welcome.

    No – not really. Like anything it takes getting used to, but that’s ‘seconds’ rather than hours. It will test your callouses a bit though after prolonged play. Check one out! 🙂

    Cheers

  5. hey, cool post… love the nomads. a buddy of mine plays PRS/Nomad at church – sweet setup. id love to hear your rig… any vids?

  6. […] Fender USA Yngwie Malmsteen Stratocaster – clean & restring … […]

  7. Hi any tips on re stringing the yngwie strat, I have a circa 97 crafted in japan which I just got, any specific tips for getting the best out of it.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Not really except that I cut the string so it goes about 6 inches past the tuning post.

  9. Akkordeonunterricht Münster | Akkordeon lernen | Musikschule Muenster…

    […]Fender USA Yngwie Malmsteen Stratocaster – clean & restring « Gitbuddy's Guitar Blog[…]…

  10. Anonymous Says:

    I’ve got one it rocks like hell flash ,

  11. I agree. It looks like a block of New Zealand butter but it is actually cute. I was hoping for the after pictures to see how you did. I do not know much of restringing guitars so I was really excited. I hope you will have the time to do so.

  12. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the website is
    also really good.

  13. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for
    your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast
    me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

Leave a Reply

