Pedal ditching – Keeley Compressor

Loyal acolytes of this blog (all one of you) will notice that I have been selling off a lot of gear in order to raise money to buy a Mesa Mark V and am over half way to doing it.

One of those items I sold was a Keeley Compressor – easily (in hindsight) one of the most overrated, over-priced and disappointing bits of gear out there.  The thing is noisy, even at the lowest settings, doesn’t seem to be properly grounded (caused a lot of buzz in the signal chain that went away when you touched it with your finger) and isn’t particularly stunning when you turn it on either. 

Fortunately Keeley is trading on a well-established reputation, so I managed to recover what I paid for it.

4 Responses to “Pedal ditching – Keeley Compressor”

  1. Although the Keeley’s not as good as Robert Keeley claims it is, I have never experienced the kind of problems you’re talking about (noisy, buzzing, etc.).

    The main problem I have with it is that is seems to squash all the life out of my tone where (in my huble opinion) it should enhance it. The only way I properly enjoy it is with a (Keeley modded) Blues Driver 2 in front of it and then it shines.

    On the other hand, just lately I built a clone of the Orange Squeezer with some hifi-parts and I love that A LOT more than my Keeley. I’ll be building an optical compressor too to see how I like that.

    Anyway, nice blog.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    your gay

  3. If you are disappointed in that compressor, good luck with the boogie. I have both, as a matter of fact, a few boogies and they are great but temperamental amps.

  4. If you are disappointed in that compressor, good luck with the boogie. I have both, as a matter of fact, a few boogies and they are great but temperamental amps.

Leave a Reply

