Took the Martin in for repair today

As reported, my HD-28 got a scratch last Saturday, causing untold sorrow and grieving for the past two days. I sought out Singapore’s most reputable luthier/repairman and went to see him.   Generally, he is against surface damage fixes and strongly urged me to reconsider having it touched up as he felt that the cost it would incur compared to the difference I would see would not be a great trade off. He urged me to try to live with the scratch and said that I would soon get used to it, but what to do? My baby has got a deep gouge the size of the Grand Canyon on it!

Actually the damage is not great – it’s about 2 inches in length with a deeper dink where the catch of the case hit it in the first instance, but what distracts me about it is the fact that in the playing position, when I look down I can see it there staring back at me – a zigzag white line. I am hoping that the luthier can patch and finish it so that it is less obvious; I don’t expect perfection but I will try anything. Collect next week.

Leave a Reply

