July

Normal programming resumes from my hiatus – just got back from a 3 week trip to Europe (london/Paris). What happened guitarwise then?

Lapstick of course was my constant companion. Consider this July’s ‘have Lapstick will travel’ entry.  I brought it to London and managed to get a decent amount of playing time in on it in –between sightseeing. I’ve been trying to play different scales from the same root e.g. C Major, C Minor, C Melodic Minor, C Dorian etc. and trying to focus on the notes that differ, e.g. a flat 3, or flat 7 etc.  P.S. I have a lot of Lapstick posts. I do not endorse or work for Lapstick. It’s just that sometimes when you find a killer product you become a natural evangelist for it. I think Lapstick is the best travel guitar out there for me and am considering getting another one. Also, when you travel a lot, your travel guitar can (gulp!) become your main guitar!  Learned the head for Dave Brubeck’s ‘Take Five’ which one of my buddies wants to jam on soon.

Spent some time traipsing up and down Denmark Street on a couple of non-consecutive days for a combined few hours.  The recession is showing a bit here. Rose Morris looks a bit ropey compared to what I remember it as.  The shops look a bit dog-eared in general and seem quite empty. Doesn’t seem to be so ‘buzzing’ as before. Still, some nice stuff on display. I nearly bought a saxophone but chickened out at the last minute – that’s another story.  There’s one store on the left as you face Charing Cross Road that is a Mesa-Boogie dealer but I forget the name (I popped in there to see if I could get my mitts on a Mark V for tryouts – they did not).  They *always* play Metallica whenever I go in there, and they *always* play it very loud. Trying any instrument out in there seems impossible and frankly puts me off as a buyer. Good luck to them, but that’s not the way to go. Not saying don’t play Metallica, but don’t let it be so intrusive. Perhaps it’s deliberate – maybe they don’t want people to be able to hear how shit some of the gear sounds that they are hawking.

2 Responses to “July”

  1. Great posting. The Lapstick is definitely a unique instrument and great for travel!

    –Zack
    http://www.guitarvibe.com

  2. Get good on guitar FAST!

Leave a Reply

