I did not know this (Steve Vai scat story)

Quote from Devin Townsend (formerly of Steve Vai’s band ‘Vai’) in this month’s Guitarist magazine:

“So I remember when we did the Tonight Show I stuck Jay Leno’s phone up my ass and we all got in trouble for it. I remember taking a shit in Steve’s guitar case, just being a total asshole and trying to define myself around him.”

I’m not sure I would take a dump in Steve Vai’s guitar case myself if I were a guest of his in the band – one reason being that the guy is like 6 feet 4 in height.  It does make me wonder though which of his guitars this was – Evo? Flo?  Wonder if this devalues them on the vintage guitar market. “eBay specials: Ibanez Jem 777V owned by Steve Vai. Great condition after years of touring as Steve’s #1 stage guitar. Recently refretted. Slight odor of fecal matter inside the case (on furry fabric near headstock end – smell clears after about 30 seconds after opening), but otherwise no major issues.”

I was unable to find a picture on the Interweb of a shit in a guitar case (I briefly considered making my own – O Internet, you disappoint me so..) so instead, I made this picture of Steve getting his revenge into Devin’s case:

Vai_UVMC_07

Oh, and here’s Devin shredding: “If any of you can do this better than me, suck it.”

3 Responses to “I did not know this (Steve Vai scat story)”

  1. Man, that’s gross and badass at the same time. Wish I could say I shit in Steve Vai’s guitar case.

  2. If I pooped in a guitar case, it would be in Malmsteins.

  3. Farah Rocle

    Quote from Devin Townsend (formerly of Steve Vai’s band ‘Vai’) in this month’s Guitarist magazine: “So I remember when we did the Tonight Show I stuck Jay Leno’s phone up my ass and we all got in trouble for it. I remember taking a shit in Steve’s guit…

Leave a Reply

