Lesson 28: Bossa Nova, Girl from Ipanema

One of my buddies wanted to jam to Girl from Ipanema so as much as I despise this song, I asked Master to show me and the Bossa Nova style and rhythm in general. We started with some basic rhythm clapping exercises, which, frankly, I suck at. Once he showed me the rhythm on the guitar it felt more intuitive to me though. As much as I hate the melody, the song has got very interesting chords and some great modulations in the bridge section

Chords if I recall correctly.

A)  Fmaj7 | Fmaj7 | G7 | G7 | Gmin7 | Gmin7b5 | Fmaj7 | Fmaj7 |

B) Gbmaj7 | Gbmaj7 | B9 | B7 | F#min7 | F#min7 | D9 | D7  | Gmin7 | Gmin7 | Eb9 | Eb7 | Amin7 | D9 | Gmin7 | C9 |

3 Responses to “Lesson 28: Bossa Nova, Girl from Ipanema”

  1. […] Lesson 28: Bossa Nova, Girl from Ipanema « Gitbuddy's Guitar Blog gitbuddy.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/lesson-28-bossa-nova-girl-from-ipanema – view page – cached One of my buddies wanted to jam to Girl from Ipanema so I asked Master to show me this song and the Bossa Nova style and rhythm in general. We started with some basic rhythm clapping exercises,… (Read more)One of my buddies wanted to jam to Girl from Ipanema so I asked Master to show me this song and the Bossa Nova style and rhythm in general. We started with some basic rhythm clapping exercises, which, frankly, I suck at. Once he showed me the rhythm on the guitar it felt more intuitive to me though. (Read less) — From the page […]

  2. Which buddy of yours wants to play that song ? In any case, arent you glad you learnt a little bit of it ?

  3. Someone called Willie. Not sure if you know him. 😉

Leave a Reply

