Random stuff

  1. ..and most importantly, at last Sunday’s lesson, I started – just started, with an inkling of a hint of a smidgen of a chink-of-light-shining-through-the-crack, began to understand what and how to go about thinking about this jazz stuff. For too long, my approach has been ‘which scale goes with which chord’ – very rigidly. I’m gradually beginning to look at things as more in terms of the interval and the sound of that interval against the root. Last night I printed out some neck blanks and started writing out all the notes related to the root – C to start with, so the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th etc. then filled in all the b9/#9s and b5s and #5s and #4 and #11s and of course the 7ths, major and minor. I plan to try and think more in terms of the note choice against the root chord from now as part of my approach and the *sound* of it in terms of consonance or dissonance. 
  2. Related to the above I have resolved (bad pun) to think in terms of the chord tones, the color tones and the tension tones to provide a bit of structure.
  3. I’ve come up with a nice arrangement for Irving Berlin’s ‘What’ll I do’ which I initially discovered on a Frank Sinatra compilation. Hoping to record it soon.
  4. Finally got the TAB book out of the case of my Chet Atkins guitar DVD and started learning his great arrangement of “When you wish upon a star” which uses a lot of artificial harmonics. It also has a great section with a nice walking bassline under the main melody. Awesome player, great tune, lovely sounding playing. I’m getting better at it.
  5. I’ve decided I want a bass (again). Thinking.
  6. …but it has to get in the queue behind a Gibson EDS-1275. Stupid really. I’ve wanted one of these for more than 20 years, but somehow always ended up buying something else. From now, I am going to be laser focused that this is the next guitar I will buy.

DSEDHCCH-large

One Response to “Random stuff”

  1. great blog, I like the master…..

Leave a Reply

