Mesa/Boogie Hollywood

Just prior to visiting the Guitar Center I first went to this little store across the road – the West Hollywood Mesa/Boogie outlet. It’s a small corner store on West Sunset Boulevard, but it houses a ton of great gear. There are of course examples of every current Mesa/Boogie amp you can think of in all different configurations and finishes. There were some gorgeous hardwood combos, heads and cabs all on display – more than enough to make a self-professed Mesa fanboy such as me drool with lust. I can tick this off the ‘things I want to do, places I want to go’ list now.

Here’s another shitty phone camera whiteout experience for ya:

IMAGE_003

The walls of the store are lined with classy guitars. There are many Tom Andersons on display, plus a brand called Nash which has a bunch of distressed looking relics which would give Fender CS a decent run for their money apparently.

The store staff are friendly. The guy who served me resembled a young Michael Douglas but with long black hair. Turned out he was a wicked bass player – he was jamming away through the Walkabout Scouts while I browsed.

They also sell pedals – MXR, ZVex, Fulltone, and a brand under the name of Geoffrey Teese which makes RMCs – “Real McCoy Custom” wah pedals.  I did some back-to-backs with a Fulltone Clyde Standard and was very impressed with the RMC. I tried the RMC1, 2 and 3 models eventually settling for the 2, which has pots for Contour, Volume and Q. It’s a nice vocal wah and set me back $235 USD. All along, the Mesa staff were very generous in letting me try stuff and get stuff in and out of the effects cupboard.

After choosing this wah, I asked if I could try out the new Mesa Electrodyne amp which was announced along with the Mark V earlier this year. I enjoyed the vintage lo gain sounds of the amp and spent a fair amount of time playing it. Nice warm dirt and great sustain.

Other stuff I scored: red ‘Boogie’ emblazoned T-shirt. 2007 Mesa/Boogie catalogue (the latest full catalogue), 40th anniversary catalogue (Mark V and Electodyne brochure essentially), 2 x Mesa/Boogie branded pics, and this groovy photo of me, looking fat and dorkish in the store:

IMAGE_005

7 Responses to “Mesa/Boogie Hollywood”

  1. Stunning, I didn’t heard about that up to the present. Thanks.

    • great post! when touring the PRS factory you see the ancient Boogie head & cab that was given to Paul (supposedly) by Santana way-back-when. It tests every single PRS that comes out of the shop! Cheers

      • I used to love PRS, the sound they make is like nothing else.

        Since then I’ve heard a few people put them down because of intonation issues etc,. There’s no easy way to adjust the intonation on a PRS, but then it’s just the same situation as an acoustic- so I don’t see a huge problem.

        I’ve also heard that maybe Mesa-Boogie amps are overpriced? I’ve never used one myself 😦

  2. Anonymous Says:

    ‘Over-priced’ is in the mind of the beholder.

    They’re not cheap for sure, but they are great quality and in my opinion, the best amps around.

  3. I’ve always heard great things about Mesa Boogie amplifiers and consider them very high on the amp hierarchy. But expensive… heck yes. Nice post sir.

  4. I’ve been to this shop a couple of times, but I really need to go there and spend some serious time tweaking with the amps and checkin stuff out.

  5. yves marcotte Says:

    it is possible to order a messa boogie t-shits i live in canada!

Leave a Reply

